Choose the Gift

Would we choose a job for which our wage was less than we deserved?  Most likely not.  Would we consider a job where on our very first day we were granted the greatest gift ever imagined?  Of course we would!

This is the difference between choosing the path of sin or receiving eternal life through Jesus Christ.  Sin will always give us less than we deserve because it keeps us separated from God and His desire for us to join Him in eternity.  Persistent, unrepented sin leads to death which is the opposite of what our Heavenly Father wants for us. 

The Bible says in Romans chapter three that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” and again in chapter six that “the wages of sin is death”.  But, God’s Word also tells us in the parable of the wandering sheep (Matthew 18) that he would “leave his 99 sheep to go look for the one that wandered off”.  And, in 2 Peter 3:15 and 17 it says, in part, “Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation…”, “since you have been forewarned, be on guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of the lawless and fall from your secure position”.

Our Heavenly Father is a patient, loving God who longs for humanity to quit the job which leads to death (i.e., sin) and to ask Him on day one of our new job for the gift of eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.  It really is as easy as that because it truly is a gift.  There is nothing we can do to earn salvation; it is found only through Jesus Christ and His sacrifice on the cross.

Sometimes I try to go back to my old job; I return to sin.  God knows this about me.  Praise be to God that He has provided me the way back to the new job – eternal life. (see 1 John 1:9)  Praise God that He is long-suffering and patient with me.  I have done nothing to deserve eternal life except ask for and receive God’s free gift.  It has been the most important request I have ever made.

If you are ready to ask God for the gift of salvation, let me encourage you to say a simple prayer.  It might go something like this, “Heavenly Father, forgive me for my sins.  I acknowledge Your Son, Jesus Christ, as my Lord and Savior.  Salvation is found only through the Name of Jesus.  I ask You right now for the gift of salvation through Your Son, Jesus.  I receive that gift from You, God, not because I deserve it, but because You are the God of grace and mercy. Thank You for loving me and providing me the way to eternal life with You through Your Son, Jesus Christ.  In Jesus’ Name I pray.  Amen.”

Kami R. Lobner

Leave a comment